Parents » Cultural Education

Cultural Education

Cultural Education Department - Title VI, Title lll, Language and Culture

VISION - To produce citizens who are multi-lingual, culturally and academically literate, who honor themselves, their family, and community.

MISSION - The Cultural Education Department will communicate, educate, collaborate, and promote home language and cultural teachings with parents, staff, and community to ensure multi-literate successful students.

Title VI

​​​Title VI of the Indian Education Act was first authorized by Congress in 1972. A subcommittee ascertained that Native Americans were performing the poorest of all socio-ethnic groups within the public school systems. Recommendations called for federal assistance in education and cultural support services as well as increased parent participation (self-determination).  Title VI is administered through an LEA (local educational agency). Gallup McKinley County Schools  is our LEA. Funding for Title VI comes directly through the Federal Department of Education.  Program goals are derived from collaboration, data and engagement of parents who are critical to the education of their children. 

The program is committed to assuring equity for all students through direct intervention, systemic change, and increased parent involvement. Goals Include:

  • Impact programs to increase the achievement level of GMCS Native American/Alaska Native students, Grades K-12.
  • Reducing the dropout rate of high school students and providing culturally relevant interventions.
  • Impact program to increase the graduation rate of high school students.
  • Provide cultural enrichment activities, professional development and outreach services.
  • Promoting active parent participation through District Parent Advisory Committee (PAC) and conducting Public Hearings in the community.

GMCS PAC Plan

1. Principals to nominate from ASC a parent to represent their school at GMCS PAC.

2. Communicate GMCS PAC and add to school web page information.

3. Meet with GMCS PAC the last Monday of each Month - beginning with Jan. 29th at 5:30-7:00pm at District Culture Education Conference room.

4. Present district data, create communication between ASC and District PAC, preview data and provide input on programs, and establish by-laws/officers for SY 18-19.

Culture Education Department Personnel

Vern Bia,Director of Culture Education- 721-1022  vbia@gmcs.k12.nm.us

Lucinda Bitsoi, Navajo Language Coach- 721-1032   lbitsoi@gmcs.k12.nm.us

Sandra Freeland,Title lll-Bilingual Coordinator- 721-1022  sfreelan@gmcs.k12.nm.us

Sadie Jefferson, Navajo Language Coach- 721-1195   sjeffers@gmcs.k12.nm.us

Paul Long Sr., Traditional Interventionist- 721-1023  plong1@gmcs.k12.nm.us

Roland Kelwood,Navajo Language Coach- 721-1028 rkelwood@gmcs.k12.nm.us

Georgia Merrill, Office Adm. Assistant- 721-1012  gmerrill@gmcs.k12.nm.us

Nellie Storer, Navajo Language Coach- 721-1008    nstorer@gmcs.k12.nm.us